Venice is a truly one of a kind city! It’s totally on the water, they aren’t lying when they say there are no cars here! The taxis are all boats, and their version of the “underground” is just a huge passenger vessel! It’s insane. Venice is definitely a one of a kind city, a must do when in Italy.

I got off of the ship in Civitavecchia bright and early at 8:30 a.m. After an hour and a half drive into Rome, we boarded a train for a four hour ride through the Italian country side to Venice. The ride was nice, but honestly I’m still so exhausted from Barcelona that I used it as a nap time. When I got off of the train, I wasn’t really prepared for what I saw. There was water EVERYWHERE!!

Italy - Day 1 Venice 008

 Italy - Day 1 Venice 009

Instead of getting on a taxi or charter bus, we got on a charted boat!

(As if we SAS’ers don’t do enough of that already!)

We got to our hotel, where we were assigned a random roommate. Normally, that would be fine, but when my roomie Angela and I got to our room, we saw this: Italy - Day 1 Venice 016

Yes. A queen sized bed. To share with a stranger.

On SAS, you make friends fast.

We spent the rest of the day wandering around the area, getting coffees, prosecco, gelatos, tomato & mozzarella .. you know, typical Italian food. The SAS group met up back at the hotel for dinner and it was AMAZING! We all got bowls of pasta – which were huge and we thought were our meal, then came our actual main dishes! I got a tomato mozzarella salad, which is a combo I’ll never grow tired of. At dinner, I enjoyed an 8 euro bottle of wine with some friends, which lets be honest, is one of the only pros of being in Europe.

After dinner, my roomie broke out the champagne she bought in the train stati0n. If you know me, you know how happy I was. Then us girls got our makeup on, talked a ton, did more makeup, more talking, and finally left the hotel. We ventured out where I embarrassed myself in front of countless Italians as a loud American, but it’s a title I wear proudly. We finally found a little bar to settle into.

There was a beautiful old woman named Chine working there, she was easily in her 90s and spoke perfect English. Instead of a mojito, she blended up a special concoction  titled “mocha bomb” .. umm whisky, kahlua, gelato and ice .. I died.

After that, we headed back to the hotel, because it was all of 10:30 and the little island we are on was ready for bed.

Italy - Day 1 Venice 021

Ellen, Emily, Me, Emily, and Mallory

The next day we had a guided tour of Venice. The city was super interesting and very picturesque.

Italy 019

Italy 027 

Italy 026 
Gondolas

Italy 011Piazza San Marco

