Before I talk about the amazingness of the Strait of Gibraltar, I want to say that I updated my last post with some pictures from crossing the Atlantic Ocean!

To catch you up on the past few days of my life at sea …

I … wake up, eat breakfast, have class, tanning, eat lunch, more tanning, have more class, go to the gym or nap (usually nap), eat dinner, hangout, sleep…….. so in case you don’t get the picture, there isn’t much to do on this ship! I’m having a very relaxing time, but honestly I’m ready to get off! There is literally no where to go on this ship after about a day. It’s been a lot of lounging! At least there is no rush  to get anywhere .. everything is just a deck or two away. 10 days at sea is a LOT longer than you would think, I’m already dreading the long haul back home.

Okay, now onto the good stuff! If you don’t know what the Strait of Gibraltar is, google it now. Seriously.

Googled? Okay, good.

Imagine seeing no land for days on end, then seeing TWO CONTINENTS looming in the distance .. if that’s not a tease, I don’t know what is! I almost don’t want to write about this, because I know I won’t be able to fully describe how breathtaking it was.

First, some mountains off the coast of Tangier, Morocco started coming out of the fog, then a few minutes later, smaller hills and mountains off the coast of Tarifa, Spain were coming into view. People were going nuts!

Exhibit A waiting for the Strait

Exhibit B IMG_0074

Patiently waiting .. Victoria, Mollie, me, Erica, & Caitlin

I only  got a few good pictures of the Spanish side, but the hills were covered in wind turbines. Then I found out in global studies that Spain is actually one of the world leaders in alternative energy, especially wind and solar panels! After waiting to cross through the Strait for 2.5 hours, I totally get it. I’ve never been to such a windy place!

One of the other ships Spanish countrysideMaybe if you squint, you can see ‘em!

We were much closer to the African side than the Europe side, so I got some great pictures of the mountains, which were SO NEAT to see!!Moroccan mountains On the side of the mountain, there was a message in Arabic, kind of like the Hollywood sign in California. I could read it, but didn’t really know what it meant. haha, so much for that year of Arabic classes!  IMG_0092

Anyone reading this know what it means? (Dad or Mayada maybe?? lol)

There were a ton of other ships in the strait, we all had to wait our turn to go through. In the meantime, we were entertained with sea turtles, sunfish, dolphins and whales! There were maybe 5-6 whales in the strait that were pretty close to the ship. All we could see of them was their spouts (the water they shoot up from their blowhole) and it was so neat! I had no idea that the Strait was so full of life considering the high amount of traffic that passes through.

Needless to say, a few of us contemplated jumping ship and swimming to land. We were so close, yet so far! I arrive in Barcelona early on Thursday morning, but some friends and I are planning on waking up to watch the sunset and watch the ship come into port. I can’t wait, because if the sunrises look anything like the sunsets, it will be SO worth it.IMG_0114

